Accession UAA-2006-182 - UAA-2006-182

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper


General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

0.12 m of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1933 -)

Administrative history

The Banff School of Fine Arts was established by the Department of Extension in 1933, under a grant from the Carnegie Foundation, to provide training in theatre arts. It expanded its mandate to include fine, applied and performing arts: painting, music, ballet, modern languages, writing, handicrafts, photography and figure skating as well as theatre. Courses were taken for University credit, Banff School certificates, or for recreation and pleasure. The School operated every summer until 1954, when, under the title Banff School of Fine Arts and Centre for Continuing Education, it began to offer year-round facilities for all types of courses, seminars, workshops, conferences and meetings. For its services to adult education, in 1951 the School received the Henry Marshall Tory Award from the Canadian Association for Adult Education. Under the Universities Act of 1966, the School was placed under the administration of the University of Calgary. In 1970 all of the units at Banff were combined into the independent Banff Centre, which received its own legislative Act in 1978. Directors: 1933-1936 Edward Annand Corbett; 1936-1968 Donald Roy Cameron; 1968-1970 Donald F. Becker (Acting); 1970-1982 David Leighton; 1982- Paul Fleck .

Custodial history

Scope and content

Program pamphlets & handbooks, newspaper clippings, conference materials and other materials.

Notes area

Physical condition


Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals


Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access


Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

accession register; index

Associated materials

Related materials



Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier


Institution identifier


Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

DBRACEWELL 3.23.2009

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres