Accession UAA-1972-205 - UAA-1972-205

Open original Digital object

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper


General material designation

    Parallel title

    Other title information

    Title statements of responsibility

    Title notes

    Level of description


    Reference code


    Edition area

    Edition statement

    Edition statement of responsibility

    Statement of scale (cartographic)

    Statement of projection (cartographic)

    Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

    Statement of scale (architectural)

    Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

    Dates of creation area


    Physical description area

    Physical description

    Publisher's series area

    Title proper of publisher's series

    Parallel titles of publisher's series

    Other title information of publisher's series

    Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

    Numbering within publisher's series

    Note on publisher's series

    Archival description area

    Name of creator


    Administrative history

    The President is the chief executive officer of the University and the Vice-Chancellor. The Board of Governors appoints the President and prescribes his tenure of office. The President has the general supervision over and direction of the operation of the University, including its academic work, the instructional and ancillary staff (including the deans of the faculties, the registrar and the librarians), and its business affairs. The Board has the authority to assign any other powers, duties and functions to the President for the welfare of the University. The President may delegate any of his powers, duties or functions as he sees fit and prescribe conditions governing the exercise of any delegated power, duty or function, including the power of subdelegation. The President reports annually to the Board and the Senate on the academic work of the University and its progress and requirements, and makes any recommendations thereon he considers necessary (Alberta. Universities Act, RSA 1980).

    The office of the President is organized hierarchically with the President and Vice Chancellor at the top, followed by the Chief of Staff, University Secretary, and General Counsel. The Chief of Staff oversees the Director of Office of the Senate and Director. The Director manages the Information Coordinator, Events and Projects Specialist, and the Senior Executive Coordinator.

    The President is appointed by the Board of Governors and broadly: provides the university with strategic leadership; oversees the university's operational and change management processes; represents and upholds academic credibility; and leads the university's external relations locally, nationally, and internationally.

    Presidents: 1908-1928 Henry Marshall Tory; 1928-1936 Robert Charles Wallace; 1936-1941 William Alexander Robb Kerr; 1941-1942 Robert Newton (Acting); 1942-1949 Robert Newton; 1949-1959 Andrew Stewart; 1959-1969 Walter Hugh Johns; 1969-1974 Max Wyman; 1974- 1979 Harry E. Gunning; 1979-1989 Myer Horowitz; 1989- Paul Davenport.

    Custodial history

    Scope and content

    Notes area

    Physical condition

    Immediate source of acquisition


    Language of material

    • English

    Script of material

      Location of originals

      map cabinet

      Availability of other formats

      Restrictions on access


      Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

      Finding aids

      Associated materials

      Related materials


      Alternative identifier(s)

      Standard number

      Access points

      Subject access points

      Place access points

      Name access points

      Genre access points

      Control area

      Description record identifier


      Institution identifier


      Rules or conventions


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation, revision and deletion

      RFROGNER 10.27.2008

      Language of description

        Script of description


          Digital object (Master) rights area

          Digital object (Reference) rights area

          Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

          Accession area