Office of the President and Vice-Chancellor

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Office of the President and Vice-Chancellor

Parallel form(s) of name

    Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

      Other form(s) of name

        Identifiers for corporate bodies

        Description area

        Dates of existence



        The President is the chief executive officer of the University and the Vice-Chancellor. The Board of Governors appoints the President and prescribes his tenure of office. The President has the general supervision over and direction of the operation of the University, including its academic work, the instructional and ancillary staff (including the deans of the faculties, the registrar and the librarians), and its business affairs. The Board has the authority to assign any other powers, duties and functions to the President for the welfare of the University. The President may delegate any of his powers, duties or functions as he sees fit and prescribe conditions governing the exercise of any delegated power, duty or function, including the power of subdelegation. The President reports annually to the Board and the Senate on the academic work of the University and its progress and requirements, and makes any recommendations thereon he considers necessary (Alberta. Universities Act, RSA 1980).

        The office of the President is organized hierarchically with the President and Vice Chancellor at the top, followed by the Chief of Staff, University Secretary, and General Counsel. The Chief of Staff oversees the Director of Office of the Senate and Director. The Director manages the Information Coordinator, Events and Projects Specialist, and the Senior Executive Coordinator.

        The President is appointed by the Board of Governors and broadly: provides the university with strategic leadership; oversees the university's operational and change management processes; represents and upholds academic credibility; and leads the university's external relations locally, nationally, and internationally.

        Presidents: 1908-1928 Henry Marshall Tory; 1928-1936 Robert Charles Wallace; 1936-1941 William Alexander Robb Kerr; 1941-1942 Robert Newton (Acting); 1942-1949 Robert Newton; 1949-1959 Andrew Stewart; 1959-1969 Walter Hugh Johns; 1969-1974 Max Wyman; 1974- 1979 Harry E. Gunning; 1979-1989 Myer Horowitz; 1989- Paul Davenport.


        The Office of the President is Located in 2-24 South Academic Building (SAB).

        Legal status

        Functions, occupations and activities

        Mandates/sources of authority

        Internal structures/genealogy

        General context

        Relationships area

        Related entity

        Assistant to the President (1943-)

        Identifier of related entity


        Category of relationship


        Type of relationship

        Assistant to the President is controlled by Office of the President and Vice-Chancellor

        Dates of relationship

        Description of relationship

        Access points area

        Subject access points

        Place access points


        Control area

        Authority record identifier


        Institution identifier

        Rules and/or conventions used


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion

        Compiled by B. Ongaro April 2020. Updated by A.A. 9 Feb. 2023



            Maintenance notes