Item FC 3216.3 P63 R64 1.1.4.22 - Loose item from 1886 scrapbook: letter to mother (12 May 1886)

Zona do título e menção de responsabilidade

Título

Loose item from 1886 scrapbook: letter to mother (12 May 1886)

Designação geral do material

  • Documento textual

Título paralelo

Outra informação do título

Título(s) de declaração(ões) de responsabilidade

Notas ao título

Nível de descrição

Item

Código de referência

FC 3216.3 P63 R64 1.1.4.22

Zona de edição

Declaração de edição

Declaração de responsabilidade da edição

Declaração de escala (cartográfica)

Declaração de projeção (cartográfica)

Declaração de coordenadas (cartográfica)

Declaração de escala (arquitetural)

Autoridade emissora e denominação (filatélica)

Zona de datas de criação

Data(s)

  • 12 May 1886 (Produção)
    Produtor
    Pocock, Roger

Zona de descrição física

Descrição física

1 folded sheet and 1 sheet (6 pages) of textual material ; 19.8 x 12.3 cm

Zona dos editores das publicações

Título da editora

Títulos paralelos das publicações do editor

Outra informação do título das publicações do editor

Declaração de responsabilidade em relação à série editora

Numeração das publicações do editor

Nota sobre as publicações do editor

Zona da descrição do arquivo

Nome do produtor

(1865-1941)

História biográfica

Henry Roger Ashewell Pocock was born November 9, 1865 at Cookham, Berkshire, England. He came to Canada with his father in 1882, and settled in Brockville, Ontario. In 1882 and 1883, he attended the Guelph Agricultural College, and subsequently took a job as a surveyor for the Canadian Pacific Railway.

Pocock enlisted with the North-West Mounted Police at Fort Osborne in 1884. When the North-West Resistance broke out, Pocock marched with Colonel Irvine's relief force from Regina to Prince Albert in the winter weather, freezing his feet during the trek. As a result of the advanced frostbite to his feet, Pocock had to have several toes amputated, rendering him an invalid constable. He kept a diary/scrapbook for each year he was with the N.W.M.P., and later used the collections to write and publish a series of fictional books based on his experiences, the first successful of which was a biographical work titled "Following the Frontier" (N.Y., 1903) also published as "A Frontiersman" (London, 1903). According to Watters (A Check List of Canadian Literature, 1628-1950), Pocock published at least 15 titles between 1888 and 1931. In 1905, Pocock went on to found "The Legion of Frontiersmen of the Commonwealth." He died November 12, 1941.

História custodial

Âmbito e conteúdo

Letter from Pocock to his mother dated 12 May 1886. Pocock writes about his cigar selling business and its success. He plans on selling iced beverages in the recreation room to make more money. He then writes about the happenings of the week, commenting on the snowy and cold weather. He then describes his room and its contents.

Zona das notas

Condição física

Fonte imediata de aquisição

Organização

Idioma do material

  • inglês

Script do material

    Localização de originais

    Disponibilidade de outros formatos

    Restrições de acesso

    All researchers (including students, faculty, visiting scholars, and members of the general public) must submit a Retrieval Request Form at least 24 hours before their visit to Bruce Peel Special Collections in order to be sure that library materials have been retrieved from storage and are available for their use.

    Termos de uso que regem, reprodução e publicação

    Instrumentos de descrição

    Materiais associados

    The letter is a loose item from the 1886 Pocock Scrapbook.

    Materiais relacionados

    Incorporações

    Identificador(es) alternativo(s)

    Número normalizado

    Pontos de acesso

    Pontos de acesso - Assuntos

    Pontos de acesso - Locais

    Pontos de acesso - Nomes

    Pontos de acesso de género

    Zona do controlo

    Descrição do identificador do registro

    Identificador da instituição

    Regras ou convenções

    Estatuto

    Nível de detalhe

    Datas de criação, revisão ou eliminação

    Idioma da descrição

      Script da descrição

        Fontes

        Área de ingresso