Accession UAA-1995-048 - UAA-1995-048

Open original Digital object

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

UAA-1995-048

General material designation

  • Textual record
  • Moving images

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description

Accession

Reference code

UAA-1995-048

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area

Date(s)

  • [1970-1990] (Creation)
    Creator
    Department of Drama

Physical description area

Physical description

0.4 m of textual records; 39 video cassettes; 1 16mm film

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1945 -)

Administrative history

Studio Theatre was established in 1949 as a place for Drama Division students to practice their craft and hone their skills. Staff of the Drama Division of the Department of Fine Arts operated the Theatre, and early participants included Robert Orchard, Gordon Peacock, Bert Pullinger, Frank Glenfield, Elizabeth Sterling Haynes, Don Pimm, and Tom Peacocke. The Theatre site was located in two deserted Second World War Quonset huts. The Quonset huts, placed side by side, contained between them a stage, auditorium, workshop, drama offices, and foyer. The first play produced on the Quonset stage was Henry IV, and for the next eight seasons over forty full-act plays, numerous one-act plays, two world premieres, and six Canadian premieres were produced on the Quonset Studio Theatre stage. The Quonset huts were torn down in 1958, and Studio Theatre was offered auditorium and classroom space in the Education Building (E.A. Corbett Hall). Studio Theatre occupied this space through to June 1989, winding up its 40th season anniversary with Michael Frayn's Benefactor just prior to the closing of Corbett Hall for renovations on June 17, 1989. Studio Theatre then operated from the Myer Horowitz stage and, in 1995, moved to its new home in the newly opened Timms Centre. Studio Theatre celebrated its 50th anniversary of operation in the spring of 1999, and continues in the present to provide Edmonton audiences with a varied and unique theatre experience.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Scripts, screenplays, videotapes, videocassettes, film auditions, workshops, and commercial shows.

Notes area

Physical condition

good

Immediate source of acquisition

Arrangement

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Main; Special Collections: A/V Vault

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

open

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

accession register; index; case file

Associated materials

Related materials

Accruals

4.28.1995

General note

File list is in case file.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

University

Institution identifier

AEU

Rules or conventions

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

DBRACEWELL 5.26.2009

Language of description

Script of description

Sources

Digital object (External URI) rights area

Digital object (Reference) rights area

Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres