Sault Ste. Marie, ON

Taxonomy

Code

Scope note(s)

Source note(s)

Display note(s)

Hierarchical terms

Sault Ste. Marie, ON

Equivalent terms

Sault Ste. Marie, ON

Associated terms

Sault Ste. Marie, ON

5 Description results for Sault Ste. Marie, ON

5 results directly related Exclude narrower terms

1851 (May) from James Settee to Smithurst

Place: Lac La Ronge, C.M.L. Station

From: James Settee

To: The Reverend J. Smithurst,
Indian Settlement (crossed out),
Church Missionary House, Salisbury Square, London (crossed out),
Middleton, Wirksworth, Derbyshire

Details: 3pp and integral address face

Notes: James Settee writes to Rev. Smithurst on a number of matters. He says that Thomas Cook brought Rev. Smithurst's last letter to him and told Settee that Rev. Smithurst was suffering badly from rheumatism. Settee says both he and his wife also suffer from rheumatism, which he blames on the cold climate. Settee is about to leave on a long journey to Norway House, and he mentions that the baptized Natives object to working on Sundays, but Settee feels that the portages would be impossible without the help of the Hudson's Bay Company boats and so they must work on the Sabbath to keep up. The mission at Lac La Ronge is doing well, and Settee hopes to writes to Rev. Smithurst again once he reaches Norway House.

While written in May, this letter has a cancellation for Sault Ste Marie, C.W. in September. The letter then made its way to Church Missionary House in London, England where it was then redirected to Middleton, Wirksworth, Derbyshire.

Settee, James

1880 (Oct) from F.D. Fauquier to Townley

Place: Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

From: F.D. Algoma

To: Townley

Details: 4 pp

Notes: A letter from F.D. Fauquier, Bishop of Algoma, to Reverend Adam Townley. In this short note, the bishop thanks Rev. Townley for his donation to the mission fund. Bishop Fauquier also congratulates Rev. Townley on returning to a parish that he previously served.

Fauquier, F.D. (Frederick Dawson)

Correspondence, 18 May 1849

Correspondence from Hector McKenzie at Hudson's Bay House, Lachine to William Mactavish at Saint Mary's, which is likely an anglicized version of Sault Ste. Marie.

The sender states that he has returned from a trip to Fort William and asks what Mactavish would like done with found possessions belonging to his deceased brother. Mackenzie also asks Mactavish how he likes his new placement and notes that he is sure to be popular with the ladies there.

Correspondence, 2 February 1849

Personal correspondence from Dugald Mactavish at Kilchrist, [Scotland] to his son William Mactavish at Sault Ste. Marie.

In the letter, Dugald describes cholera in Kilchrist, his health and the health of William's mother, and his financial situation. Mention is made of other people who are likely family members, including Dugald [Jr. Mactavish], Alex [Mactavish], John [Mactavish], and Lockhart [Mactavish], and a man named Hargrave, who is possibly James Hargrave.

Correspondence, 5 January 1850

Correspondence from David Colville at Campbeltown, [Scotland] to William Mactavish at Sault Ste. Marie.

The sender confirms receipt of money drafted from George Simpson to pay Mactavish's father's debt. The sender expresses concern that Mactavish has not written to his father.