Showing 296 results Places

Places term Scope note Results
Albany, ON 1
Alberta Beach, AB 1
Alberta, Canada
  • Alberta was a district of the Northwest Territories until becoming a province on September 1, 1905.
Aldershot, England 0
Altona, MB 1
Atikokan, ON 2
Attawapiskat, ON 1
Banff Springs Hotel 13
Banff, AB (1) 26
Bankhead, AB 1
Battleford, SK 3
Beaver Creek (Kootenay Boundary, BC) 0
Beaver Creek mission
  • An Anglican mission to the area between Weatherald Creek and Moose Mountain, SK.
Beaver Lake, AB 0
Beaver Mines, AB 1
Belgium 0
Bellevue, AB 1
Bentley, AB 1
Binscarth, MB 1
Bloemfontein, South Africa 0
Bow Island, AB 1
Brandon, MB 8
British Columbia, Canada 26
Brooks, AB 1
Byron, ON 0
Cabri, SK 2
Calgary, AB (1) 136
Camp Sewell, MB
  • Camp Sewell, Manitoba [Camp Hughes Military Training Site] west of Carberry, of North Cypress. Established as Sewell Camp in 1909, it was renamed after Major-General Sir Sam Hughes, Canada's Minister of Militia and Defence, in 1915. During World War 1 more than 38,000 troops of the Canadian Expeditionary Force trained there.
Camrose, AB 2
Canada 6
Canning, NS 1
Cape Town, South Africa 0
Carberry, MB 0
Carnduff, SK 0
Carolina, South Africa 0
Caterham, Surrey, England 2
Chalk River, ON 2
Chateau Lake Louise 2
Châlons-en-Champagne, France 0
Chilkoot Pass 0
Churchill, MB 1
Claresholm, AB 2
Cobourg, ON 0
Cochrane, AB 2
Cold Lake, AB 1
Coldwater, ON 0
Collingwood, ON 0
Cranbrook, BC 1
Cumberland - Devon mission
  • The mission was founded in 1840 by Henry Budd after being discouraged from setting up an Anglican mission at the Hudson's Bay Company outpost Cumberland House [SK]. The area was known by several names, including W’passkwayaw and Paskoyac. The mission was also referred to by a variety of names, including Riviere du Pas, Cumberland Station, and Cumberland mission. It was renamed to 'Devon Mission' by Reverend James Hunter, sometime after his arrival from England in 1844. The community of The Pas, MB grew from the original mission.
Dauphin, MB 6
Dawson, YT 0
Deer Lodge, MT 0
Denver, CO 0
Detroit, MI 4
Drumheller, AB 2
Dunnville, ON 0
Durban, South Africa 0
East St. Paul, MB
  • The Rural Municipality of East St. Paul was created, along with the R.M. of West St. Paul, from the splitting of St. Paul in 1915.
Edmonton, AB (1) 121
Elora, ON 0
Embarras Portage, AB 1
Empress Hotel
  • Located in Victoria, BC, Canada. One of the great railroad hotels.
Eshowe, South Africa 0
Esquimalt, BC 1
Estevan, SK 1
Eyebrow, SK 1
Fairford, MB 0
Farwell Canyon, BC 0
Fernie, BC 1
Fife, Scotland 0
Foam Lake, SK 1
Folkestone, England 0
Fond-du-Lac, SK 0
Fond-du-Lac, SK 0
Fort Chipewyan, AB 2
Fort Frances, ON 0
Fort Garry, MB
  • Although the city of Winnipeg was incorporated in 1873, the name of "Fort Garry" continued to be used unofficially to refer to the "Upper Fort Garry" and surrounding area.
Fort Kipp, MT 0
Fort Langley, BC
  • Grew into the district municipality of Langley, British Columbia.
Fort Macleod, AB
  • Known as the Town of Macleod between 1892 and 1912.
Fort McMurray, AB 3
Fort Osborne, MB 0
Fort Pitt, SK 0
Fort Providence, NT 1
Fort Qu’appelle, SK 0
Fort Resolution, NT 4
Fort Saskatchewan, AB 1
Fort Simpson, BC
  • The Hudson's Bay Company founded Fort Simpson in 1831, but moved it in 1834. It eventually developed into Port Simpson and later Lax Kw'alaams. It is located on the coast of British Columbia.
Fort Simpson, NT 4
Fort Smith, NT 2
Fort Snelling, MN 0
Fort Vermilion, AB 1
Fort Victoria. BC
  • Founded in 1843 by the Hudson's Bay Company, the fort was called Fort Camosun and Fort Albert. It was renamed after Queen Victoria in 1846. The fort was torn down in 1864.
  • Fort Victoria was the precursor to the city of Victoria, capital of British Columbia.
Fort Walsh, SK 0
Fort William, ON
  • In January 1970, Fort William amalgamated with Port Arthur and the townships of Neebing and McIntyre to form the city of Thunder Bay.
France 0
Frank, AB 2
Glasgow, Scotland 1
Golden, BC 2
Goose Lake, AB 1
Results 1 to 100 of 296