Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Known as the Department of Soils until 1949, the Soil Science Department promotes good stewardship of soil resources through teaching, research and extension. It administers the Alberta Soil Survey (established 1921), the Breton Plots (1930) and the Alberta Institute of Pedology (1968) (PACCR, 1988). Lecturer 'Soils I': 1914-1919 Adolph L.F. Lehmann. Heads: 1919-1947 Frank Archibald Wyatt; 1947-1959 John Dawson Newton; 1959-1969 John A. Toogood. Chairs: 1969-1974 John A. Toogood; 1971-1972 Stephen Pawluk (Acting); 1974-1979 Stephen Pawluk; 1979-1989 William B. McGill; 1984-1985 Marvin J. Dudas (Acting); 1989- James A. Robertson.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places