Department of Political Science

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Department of Political Science

Parallel form(s) of name

  • Department of Political Economy

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1923 - 1964


Political Science courses were first offered by the Department of Political Economy in 1923. Dr. Henry Bertram Mayo, the University's first political scientist, was appointed in 1947, and was Acting Head from 1951 to 1957. In 1964, Political Economy split into the Departments of Economics and Political Science. The Department's primary role is to educate students about the nature and activity of the state and the conduct of its government and politics, the government and politics of other societies and the interaction of such governments, and about individual rights and obligations (PACCR, 1984). Heads: 1964-1965 Grant R. Davy; 1966-1969 Christian Bay. Chairs: 1969-1972 Grant R. Davy; 1972-1974 J. Peter Meekison; 1975-1982 Roberta E. McKown; 1982-1985 Frederick C. Engelmann; 1985- Allan Tupper.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places