Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The teaching of anthropology was introduced in the late 1950s within the Department of Philosophy and Psychology. In 1963 the joint Department of Sociology and Anthropology was established, and by 1966 two separate departments were formed. The Department's personnel, facilities, teaching function, and research emphasis are organized around four programs: 1. archaeology and paleoenvironmental studies; 2. physical anthropology and primatology; 3. culture contact, development and world problems; 4. symbolic, linguistic and cognitive analysis (PACCR, 1986). Chairs: 1966-1970 Charles S. Brant; 1967-1968 Harold Barclay (Acting); 1971-1975 Henry T. Lewis; 1975-1978 C. Roderick Wilson; 1978-1981 Clifford G. Hickey; 1981-1982 Michael Asch (Acting); 1982-1986 Michael Asch; 1986-[1990] Henry T. Lewis; 1990- David Lubell .


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places