Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Department of Fine Arts, established in 1945, included music, drama and visual arts under the leadership of Henry George Glyde. The Bachelor of Music degree was instituted in 1958, and the Master of Music degree in 1968. Fine Arts split into its present three departments in 1965. Over the years, the Department's staff and students have enriched the cultural climate in Edmonton and its environs through bands, choirs, orchestras, opera productions, radio and television concerts and lectures, and production of new music, to name some examples. The Department cooperates with the Western Board of Music to provide a comprehensive study syllabus and examination program used widely by music teachers throughout Alberta and Western Canada (PACCR, 1983). Heads: 1947-1965 Richard S. Eaton. Chairs: 1965-1968 Richard S. Eaton; 1969-1986 Robert Stangeland; 1986-[1990] Alfred Fisher; [1990]- Wesley Berg.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places