Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Instruction in dairy production was administered by a department known successively as Dairying (1921-1959) and Dairy Science (1959-1961). To reflect a widening of scope it was renamed the Department of Dairy and Food Science (1961) before taking its current designation in 1964. The sole source of food science education in Alberta, the Department offers teaching, research, extension and professional activities related to food production, processing, and microbiology (PACCR, 1984). Heads: 1921-1934 Christian P. Marker; 1934-1958 Harold R. Thornton; 1958-1969 Lawrence F.L. Clegg. Chairs: 1969-1974 Lawrence F.L. Clegg; 1974-1982 Harold Jackson; 1982- Frederick Henry Wolfe.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places