Faculty of Law

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Faculty of Law

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence

1921 -


The University began its teaching of law in 1913, when it assumed responsibility for holding examinations for students of the Law Society in Alberta, and began offering lectures at the Court House for articled students. The Faculty came into being in 1921, providing a full-time three-year program leading to the degree of LLB. A graduate program was established in 1965. Professors: 1921-1926 John Alexander Weir. Deans: 1926-1942 John Alexander Weir; 1942-1945 Malcolm MacIntyre; 1944-1947 George H. Steer (Acting); 1948-1968 Wilbur Fee Bowker; 1968-1970 Gerald LaForest; 1970-1976 Gerald H.L. Fridman; 1976-1986 Frank Douglas Jones; 1986- Timothy J. Christian.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area

Subject access points

Place access points


Control area

Authority record identifier


Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC

Related subjects

Related places