Fonds UAA Fonds 0100 - Department of Psychology fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Department of Psychology fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

UAA Fonds 0100

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1939-1968 (Creation)
    Department of Psychology

Physical description area

Physical description

text, 0.01m

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

The first psychology course was offered at the University of Alberta in 1909. The Department of Philosophy and Psychology was part of the Faculty of Arts and Science and John M. MacEachran was the department’s head. In 1933-1934, the department was known as the Department of Philosophy, Psychology and Education, until Education became an independent school in 1934. The Departments of Philosophy and Psychology were divided in 1960. The PhD program was established in 1962 and the first PhD was awarded in 1965.

Spanning the Faculties of both Science and Arts, its research interests have lain mainly in the realm of experimental psychology. Courses and research span the topics of behaviour systems and cognitive neuroscience, cognition, comparative cognition and behavior, developmental science, and social and cultural psychology. The department is also associated with the University's interdisciplinary Centre for Advanced Study in Theoretical Psychology, established in 1966.

Heads: 1909-1945 John Malcolm MacEachran; 1945-1952 John Macdonald; 1952-1957 Douglas Elstow Smith; 1957-1960 Anthony Manuel Mardiros; 1960-1967 Joseph Russell Royce; 1967-1969 Thomas M. Nelson.

Chairs: 1969-1985 Thomas M. Nelson; 1985-1997 Eugene C. Lechelt; 1997-1998 Gay L. Bisanz (Acting); 1998-1999 Charles M. Beck (Acting); 1999-2000 Terrance M. Caelli; 2000-2008 Douglas S Grant; 2008-2009 Donald L. Kuiken (Acting); 2009-2011 Douglas S. Grant; 2011-2012 Thomas L. Spalding (Acting); 2012-2016 Jeff Bisanz; 2016-2019 Chris Sturdy; 2019- Anthony Singhal.

Custodial history

Scope and content

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

    Script of material

      Location of originals

      Availability of other formats

      Restrictions on access

      Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

      Finding aids

      Associated materials

      Related materials


      General note


      Alternative identifier(s)

      Standard number

      Access points

      Subject access points

      Place access points

      Name access points

      Genre access points

      Control area

      Description record identifier


      Institution identifier

      Rules or conventions


      Level of detail

      Dates of creation, revision and deletion

      Created by MMCFARLANE 1-11-2008. Updated by MMCFARLANE 1-17-2008.

      Language of description

      • English

      Script of description


        Accession area